Already registered? Check your email for a link to the Virtual Event. 
If you do not see it in your inbox, be sure to check your junk mail.

Download the Annual Awards Program

United Way’s 2020 Annual Awards 

A Virtual Evening 

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

5 p.m.  Virtual Cocktail Hour - Live Stream Performance by Wild Adriatic
6 p.m.  Video Program


$100 Individual
$75 Young Professional (Under 35)
$750 Watch Party of 8 

All tickets include to-go refreshment package with an individual cheese board by The Cheese Traveler and 2 miniature bottles of champagne.

About the event 

Join United Way of the Greater Capital Region as we celebrate our corporate partners for their incredible support of the 2019-20 United Way of the Greater Capital Region Campaign, the 2020 Philanthropist of the Year, and acknowledge the tremendous career and generosity of James J. Barba, JD, President Emeritus, Albany Medical Center as the sole inductee of the Capital Region Philanthropy Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

proudly honoring 

James J. Barba, JD, President Emeritus, Albany Med  

As the 2020 inductee of the Capital Region Philanthropy Hall of Fame. 

Honored for his distinguished leadership at Albany Med and steadfast commitment to our community. 

Formal celebration to follow in June 2021. 



Meet our 2020 Philanthropist of the Year Finalists

This award recognizes an individual who has positively impacted our community.  Tune in on June 24th as we reveal this year’s Philanthropist of the Year! 

2020 Philanthropist of the Year Finalists


United Way of the Greater Capital Region's 'Five to Watch' initiative is designed to identify a cohort of organizations and leaders that are poised to shape the future of New York's Capital Region. This new investment initiative was created to address the racial and cultural disparities between the leaders of nonprofit organizations and the communities they serve as well as to address similar disparities when it comes to organizational resources.

As part of the 'Five to Watch' initiative, United Way GCR will issue grants annually to five community-based organizations with leadership from under-represented groups and less than $1 million in annual operating revenue.  The selected organizations will be innovators in their communities and will leverage United Way and our partners to amplify their impact across the Capital Region.  The first cohort will be announced at United Way's Annual Awards on June 24th.

How it works:

After registration you will be sent a link to our live stream the virtual program.

To-go refreshment package includes:

  • United Way lunch tote
  • an individual cheese board with locally made cheese and pairings from The Cheese Traveler
  • 2 miniature bottles of sparkling wine

Dietary accommodations and non-alcoholic beverages available

Available for pick up at United Way’s office, 1 United Way, Albany from 3-6 p.m. on Wednesday, June 24th. 


Phone: 518.456.2200


United Way's Annual Awards Silent Auction is NOW LIVE! Browse all the one of a kind exciting experiences and make a bid.

Opportunites include: a private Fort Orange Brewing private tour and tasting with 10 guests; ValleyCats Field Party Package with 19 guests you can take the field with; photgraphy mentorship session with JP Elario, AND MORE!

Thank you to our ANNUAL Awards Sponsors




2019 Annual Awards Recap video



To view a list of all our Corporate Event Partners, Click Here